Diesel RAM Forum banner

Diesel upkeep

5K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  cds13us 
#1 ·
Hey all, just got my first diesel truck and just wanted to see what regular upkeep or maintenance is now required that I probably wasn't used to before. If anybody has a list or something of how often you need to replace certain filters or anything like that please let me know! Also I was told to get my DEF topped off every time I take it into the dealer or a shop but my DEF percent is still pretty full so should I let it run all the way down before filling it again? Any help is appreciated!

#2 ·
Well, I'm no expert on this, but fill your own DEF. You don't want to run out, and I see no reason to pay your dealer to fill it. I just went to Walmart and picked up a 2.5 gal jug of DEF for about $9. Once I get my canopy and everything set up on my new rig I'll probably carry a gal of it in my utility box. My advise, when you see your gauge get around 1/4 fill it up.

Other than that, I plan on changing the oil about every 10,000. Change the fuel filter; In my old Cummins I did this about every 25,0000 miles, or a bit more. If you tow, do everything a sooner. I wish I could give you more suggestions, but I don't think there is much else to worry about. Enjoy your new rig.

#5 ·
I personally prefer def in the 2.5 gal jug at the local farm store. I pay 7 bucks for it and it lasts quite awhile. Problem I had with the bulk pump at the truck stop is the darn thing didn't shut off quick enough and def blew everywhere.....that stuff is nasty. At least with the jug you can kinda hear when it's getting full. I add 2.5 @ 1/2 tank and no longer worry about spilling. One thing to remember, if you live in a cold climate, do not top off def when its extremely cold out.....def is mostly water and can cracked your def tank if it is full.