You Need Extra Electrics in the Cab? - Ram 1500 Diesel Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By 10%More
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 06-27-2014, 09:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sundance/Wimauma, Florida
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
You Need Extra Electrics in the Cab?

Wanted to power CB and amateur radios that I mount on the floor. Need power to a radar detector and portable GPS unit. Added a terminal block behind that side panel just above the emergency brake pedal.

Power wires came off the battery. Sourced a wiring boot on Amazon and drilled out a hole that had some kind of plug already in it in the firewall.Ran power wires and antenna wires through the boot and into the cab.

Neat and sanitary, I have power to spare. Just remember to fuse it in-line.

This is the block.. it is covered by a panel which is off for this picture.


Here's the boot and drill location on both sides of the firewall.


Radio mounts on the floor. It's simple.

Pip and zoomie like this.
10%More is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-02-2014, 11:21 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Great stuff, Thanks for the pics. I will need to be doing the same likely. Ham radio for sure (at least 2m FM for voice and APRS) and debating on the CB and or a scanner. I'd like to limit the # of antennas however so we will see.
LAD_Mvric is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-02-2014, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
I'm a little nervous about playing around with wiring. Seems pretty simple here though. It's all working properly for you and everything?
Panther Dash is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 08-03-2014, 09:42 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sundance/Wimauma, Florida
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
You are NOT dealing with any of the truck factory wiring. I just added everything to the battery and did a separate fusing for everything.

"Simple" is my middle name. All works well.
10%More is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-16-2014, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Nice installation, especially the feedthrough!

For equipment that pulls a lot of current, such as transceivers, it is important to size the wire correctly. Here are some examples.

Assuming 50% efficiency and a voltage drop of 3%:

5W CB radio - 0.83A 19AGW wire
25W Ham radio - 4.17A 12AGW wire
50W Ham radio - 8.33A 9AGW wire
100W Ham radio - 16.67A 6AGW wire
200W Ham radio - 33.33A 3AGW wire

From this it's pretty obvious that for large loads, some attention to wire size is necessary. A good practice, but not critical, for transceivers is to run both a hot and ground lead to the equipment and fuse both sides of the line. In fact most Ham transceivers will already have both leads fused. The fuses should always be located as close to the battery as possible.
Anomaly is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-16-2014, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
That is one sweet install.

I have done wiring in the past and have learned to do it right, in the process I have seen horrible and amazing jobs, this is definitely up their.
Haulin is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-16-2014, 06:14 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sundance/Wimauma, Florida
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Most I run is a 25 w. 2 meter rig. No issues so far and each line has it's own fuse to the appliance in addition to the main one coming off the battery.
10%More is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-16-2014, 09:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
10%More,

I didn't mean to imply that you didn't do a fine job on your install. I just offered the additional info for those who may not be aware of possible issues.

Keep the innovative installs coming.... just don't forget the pitiful payload that we have to deal with. Too many upgrades and we are at gross.
Anomaly is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extra Care lifetime warranty firemist32 Ram 1500 EcoDiesel Purchasing and Orders 7 06-24-2014 10:18 AM
Will higher than expected demand make for extra costs added by dealers? Panther Dash Ram 1500 EcoDiesel General Discussion 21 03-22-2014 12:25 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome