Diesel RAM Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys I'm new to this forum. I currently own a 2012 chrysler 300C (5.7 Hemi) and I am looking to purchase a ram 1500 in the future. But I have a few questions since I am new to the truck market.

I am wondering how confident you guys are when you are passing by others on the highway with a trailer and without a trailer. I am from BC, Canada and I just intend on taking my (future) truck up the mountains to mountain bike, snowboard etc.

Secondly, how do you think the cost of ownership is? High or low? I saw some posts where oil changes cost $200. That's a lot! But since I have a Hemi engine in my current vehicle, I'm sure that this ecodiesel will compensate for the gas mileage. Are there any other costs that I'm missing other than oil change, DEF, and fuel?

Third, I read a post suggesting that in 2017-2018 Ram will get a redesign of the truck. The CEO of fiat-chrysler said that they are "ready to go aluminum" but his "gut feeling" is that they will not. Any thoughts or updates on that?

Also, I am curious about the cold starts of the diesel engine and the DEF. I wonder how it starts in -30 to -40 degrees C. Anyone have any issues with the start in cold temperatures?

Thanks for reading my post! Have a great day!

·
Registered
104 Posts
Welcome!
Can't say I can help much because I live in Southern California, but I will be traveling in winter for ski trips so I have read about using engine block heaters, concerns about DEF at lower temps, starting, gas additives etc., and from what I've read in the forums, it's been pretty much laid to rest.